view online:

MAA e-Bulletin Summer 2014 No.1 Architecture Matters. Table for 1200 | Travel Manitoba.

Architecture Matters. Table for 1200 | Travel Manitoba.

line break

2014 Manitoba Excellence in Sustainability Awards

The deadline for submitting an application or nomination is 12:00 noon, Friday, September 26, 2014.

Nominate someone you know or apply yourself!

The Manitoba Excellence in Sustainability Awards recognize and honour people, projects and ideas that successfully turn the principles and guidelines of sustainable development into lasting achievements. Sustainable development is an approach to daily decision-making that integrates probable consequences to our environment, our economy and the health and well-being of all Manitobans. It's a way of making decisions that balances the needs of today without sacrificing the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

For application/nomination instructions and forms, please visit:

Table for 1200

Congratulations to all involved, both organizers and particpants. The event was well received across the city and across the country. Check out the link for a sample of Twitter traffic during and after.

Call for Submissions

Deadline for submission is August 15th, 2014

The RAW:almond organizers request the interest from designers and artists of all kinds for a design for RAW:almond 2015. The competition is open to teams and/or solo designers, artists or architects.

Winning entry will have their design built with engineering input for January 2015. The winner will be flown in to Winnipeg and stay at the luxurious Fort Garry Hotel in downtown Winnipeg, only meters from the restaurant site.

Along with their stay at the Fort Garry Hotel the winning entrant will be given opening night dinner tickets (# of tickets TBD). If the winning design comes from a Winnipeg member an honorarium will supplement the airfare and hotel stay ($ TBD).

For more info write to

Submission fee is $75 CDN.



The Moriyama RAIC International Prize is one of the world’s largest and most prestigious cash prizes in architecture. It is awarded every two years.

The winner receives CAD $100,000 and a handcrafted sculpture designed by internationally renowned Canadian designer Wei Yew. Depicting abstractions of the Canadian landscape, no two pieces will be entirely alike.

The Prize is awarded to an architect, an architecture firm or an architecture collaboration from anywhere in the world for the design of an outstanding building or project. It may also be awarded to a non-architect for an exceptional contribution to architecture. The winner is selected through an open, juried competition.

About the e-Bulletin

The e-Bulletin is published semi-monthly as an informational resource to members of the Manitoba Association of Architects. Send your events and notices directly to Jason Robbins ( As well, if you would like to submit an image for the Every building has an Architect series, you can send them directly to Jason Robbins. Include all applicable credits including architect and photo; images should be 800px x 600px or less.

Address any comments or concerns to the Executive Director.

Follow @MBAssocArch on Twitter! Like us on Facebook!

You’re receiving this newsletter as a member of the MAA. Not interested anymore?  Unsubscribe instantly.

Copyright © 2012 Manitoba Association of Architects. Privacy Policy: