view online:

MAA e-Bulletin Summer 2014 No.1 Architecture Matters. Liyuan Library | Li Xiaodong. First Moriyama RAIC International Prize Winner.

Architecture Matters. Liyuan Library | Li Xiaodong. First Moriyama RAIC International Prize Winner.

line break

Moriyama RAIC International Prize

Li Xiaodong of China wins the first $100,000 Moriyama RAIC International Prize 2014-10-12 A modest library on the outskirts of Beijing, China, designed by architect Li Xiaodong, has won the inaugural Moriyama RAIC International Prize.

The Liyuan Library opened in May 2012, in the hillside village of Jiaojiehe. “It is a lovely object in a dramatic landscape, a wondrous thing to use and be in,” the six-member jury wrote in their statement. Architect Li Xiaodong started working with the community before funding was in place in the hopes that a well-designed library would not only improve life in the village but also boost the local economy by attracting tourists to the scenic area. The library was eventually funded by a rural development grant from the Lu Qianshou Trust in Hong Kong. The construction budget for the 175-square-metre library was CAD$185,000.

“This project is about the relationship of a building to its surroundings and its role in serving the community, rather than a building as a discrete object,” Li wrote in his submission statement.

Read more:

The RAIC needs regional directors!

A call for nominations will soon be announced to elect Regional Directors for the following regions: Atlantic; Saskatchewan & Manitoba; and Alberta & Northwest Territories. Terms of service will commence January 2015 for a period of three years.

RAIC / AAA Festival of Architecture 2015: Call for Presenters

Deadline for proposals is October 30.

RAIC | Architecture Canada and the Alberta Association of Architects (AAA) invite proposals for the presentation of continuing education sessions during the Festival of Architecture (Festival) to be held June 3-6, 2015 in Calgary, Alberta.

In a province of big skies, and big ideas, the 2015 AAA/RAIC Festival of Architecture theme of (Re)generation + Integration embraces the value of moving beyond singular perspectives to explore opportunities to collaborate, combine, include, participate and amplify traditional norms.

(Re)generation stretches beyond sustainability; it imagines architecture and design that restores environmental health, adapts existing buildings and energizes city life.

Integration harmonizes building, interiors, landscape and street. It makes spaces that welcome all members of society, and inclusive of the aging population and people with disabilities.

The Festival intends to provide architects and interior designers with thematically relevant and inspiring continuing education sessions. this will be a four day opportunity to engage in continuing education and to network with others interested in the multifaceted world of architecture and interior design.

2015 OAA Annual Conference Call for Presenters

November 17, 2014 Call for Proposals is closed

The OAA Annual Conference is a 4-day interdisciplinary forum that brings together Ontario Architects, interns, and other allied professionals. It is comprised of Continuing Education sessions, panel presentations, architectural tours, and social events.

The OAA Conference is an opportunity for Ontario Architects to acquire new knowledge that contributes to their expertise and general understanding. This learning is future-oriented and goes beyond immediate application; rather it attempts to facilitate the professionals’ capacity to plan and undertake new challenges.

The OAA invites you to submit a proposal to speak at the OAA Conference in the Continuing Education stream.

2010 National Model Construction Codes

Starts September 8 until October 31, 2014

Public review on proposed changes to the 2010 National Model Construction Codes

The Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes (CCBFC) would like to invite your organization and its members—as important stakeholders in the development of the National Model Construction Codes—to take part in the fall 2014 public review of proposed changes to the 2010 National Model Construction Codes.

The public review will run from September 8 until October 31, 2014 on the Public Review page of the NRC Web site.

2014 SDA Salary Survey

The MAA will be once again be participating in the next edition of the Salary Survey administered by the Society of Design Administration; and it would appear that most of the architectural associations in Canada will be included this time. In the coming weeks, MAA practices will receive a special e-bulletin providing further information as well as the e-link through which the survey can be accessed and completed. All practices are strongly encouraged to participate.

About the e-Bulletin

The e-Bulletin is published semi-monthly as an informational resource to members of the Manitoba Association of Architects. Send your events and notices directly to Jason Robbins ( As well, if you would like to submit an image for the Every building has an Architect series, you can send them directly to Jason Robbins. Include all applicable credits including architect and photo; images should be 800px x 600px or less.

Address any comments or concerns to the Executive Director.

Follow @MBAssocArch on Twitter! Like us on Facebook!

You’re receiving this newsletter as a member of the MAA. Not interested anymore?  Unsubscribe instantly.

Copyright © 2012 Manitoba Association of Architects. Privacy Policy: